Florin Awards Process

Role of the Jury

The jury consists of five members, including the chairman of EPCA or a designated EPCA representative. The members of the jury are selected 'by invitation' from the industry community applying several criteria:

  • Experienced, respected, authoritative industry professionals, able to take an unbiased position.

  • With a proven inclination towards innovation.

  • With different perspectives on the transaction services industry: e.g. different actors, services, channels, geography.

The role or the jury is straightforward and three-fold:

  • Monitor the Florin Awards process and ensure that everything proceeds according to the ‘rules’ and in a fair manner.

  • Select the Florin 'Winner Jury Vote'.

  • Present the Florins in the Florin Award ceremony at the EPCA Conference.

Award process

The Florin Awards process has been designed to capture the most recent innovations in the transaction services industry and to select the nominees and winners that have broad industry appeal. To this end, both industry experts and the community are involved in the process to determine the winners. The way the winner is determined differs for each of three Florin Awards. As a result, it is possible for a single candidate to win multiple awards!

Florin Awards process

Phases and Timeline

The award process consists of 3 phases: Call for candidates > Nomination > Community/Jury voting and Product Pitch contest.



Five nominees compete for the Florin ‘Winner Jury Vote’ and Florin ‘Winner Community Vote’. The five nominees are selected during January from the candidates that have submitted a valid application. The European Payments Consulting Association (EPCA: 11 members in 10 countries: MT, RU, DE, DK, FR, HU, IT, NL, PL, UK) appoint the nominees. In this process each EPCA member awards a maximum of 10 points to a minimum of 5 candidates, based on their own criteria. The top 5 that result from this scoring are nominated. The nominees are announced 1 month after the closing of the ‘call for candidates’, in the beginning of February.


Community/Jury voting

After nomination, the transaction services community votes online at ThePaypers.com for their favorite nominee to determine the Winner Community Vote. The Florin Jury selects the Winner Jury Vote. This phase lasts about 2 months and ends at the start of the EPCA Summit, 12 March 2014.


Awards ceremony

The Florins are awarded to the winners in the Florin Award ceremony at the end of the 1st day at the EPCA Payment Summit, 12 March 2014. The winners are announced by Jury members present at EPCA Summit.


This Month

Next Month

02 Apr 2014   AITEC Southern Africa ICT Summit
03 Apr 2014   How to Use KPIs to Improve your Accounts Payable Efficiency
06 Apr 2014   NACHA Payments 2014
07 Apr 2014   9th Annual Middle East Retail Banking Forum
07 Apr 2014   15th Annual Commercial Card and Payment Conference
07 Apr 2014   Home Delivery World
07 Apr 2014   Inside Bitcoins - the future of virtual currency
07 Apr 2014   Mobile Money Americas
07 Apr 2014   Inside Bitcoins - the future of virtual currency
07 Apr 2014   Chief Procurement Officer Summit
08 Apr 2014   MVNOs World Congress
08 Apr 2014   3rd Annual Customer Experience Management in Banking Summit
08 Apr 2014   Mondato Summit Europe
08 Apr 2014   ETA Annual Meeting & Expo 2014
08 Apr 2014   IFINTEC International Finance Technologies Conference and Exhibition
09 Apr 2014   4th Annual Latin America Trade & Commodity Finance Conference
09 Apr 2014   11th Annual Accounts Payable and Procurement Transformation Summit Asia
09 Apr 2014   SAP Conference for Financial Shared Services
10 Apr 2014   The 4th Cloud And Big Data Summit
11 Apr 2014   Bitcoin Expo 2014
12 Apr 2014   Hitmeister e-Commerce Day
15 Apr 2014   Netherlands' Customer Festival
15 Apr 2014   Cash, Treasury & Risk Management in Turkey
17 Apr 2014   8th Annual Prepaid Expo Europe 2014
20 Apr 2014   our Big Data and Analytics for Banking Summit
22 Apr 2014   Wima Monaco - NFC & Proximity Solutions
23 Apr 2014   Future Bank Asia
23 Apr 2014   The Cash Handling Show Asia
23 Apr 2014   The Retail World Asia
23 Apr 2014   RFID World Asia
23 Apr 2014   Digital ID World Asia
23 Apr 2014   The Digital Signage World Asia
23 Apr 2014   Near Field Communication World Asia 2014
23 Apr 2014   The Internet Show Asia
23 Apr 2014   Ecommerce Show Asia
23 Apr 2014   10th Annual Trade & Supply Chain Seminar
23 Apr 2014   Cards & Payments Asia 2014
23 Apr 2014   The Mobile Show Asia 2014
23 Apr 2014   Cards & Payments Asia 2014
23 Apr 2014   Cards & Payments Asia 2014
24 Apr 2014   China Retail Focus 2014
24 Apr 2014   4th Annual Indonesia Trade & Commodity Finance Conference
24 Apr 2014   M2M World Congress
29 Apr 2014   Total Payments Mexico
29 Apr 2014   Big Data World Mexico
29 Apr 2014   Loyalty World Mexico
29 Apr 2014   FinovateSpring
29 Apr 2014   Money Transfer Dubai